Reusable Christmas Bags

Two years ago my mother in law sent all of our Christmas presents in reusable bags that she had sewn. I immediately loved the idea! I had never seen it before and thought it was very cool. I didn’t do anything about it last year, but this year I went shopping after Christmas and picked up some fabrics at 70% off. I sewed up a bunch of bags in varying sizes, added some ribbons to tie and called it a day. There are lots of reasons I love this idea.

1- It is less wasteful! According to the EPA, household waste increases by more than 25% between Thanksgiving and Christmas. Added food waste, shopping bags, packaging, wrapping paper, bows and ribbons all adds up to an additional 1 million tons a week to our landfills. Ouch!

2- It saves money! I won’t have to go spend all that money on wrapping paper every year now, I’ll just be able to use my cute fabric bags!

3- They are easier to store! I hate those stupid wrapping paper rolls tumbling around in my closet. I simply put all the other bags into one fabric bag and set it on a shelf. They are easy to fold and store anywhere, really.

They also feel so old fashioned. I love everything about this idea and look forward to building our collection over the years.

I am not going to include a tutorial because I didn’t take any pictures in the process of working on them, but there are tons out there am I sure. Here is a picture of some of the finished products.

1815

Published in: on January 11, 2014 at 12:58 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aninaduren.wordpress.com/2014/01/11/reusable-christmas-bags/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

