Put Them To Work

Today was house cleaning day around here. We have family and friends starting to arrive tomorrow, and into next weekend also so it was time to tidy up the place a bit. I actually don’t care much about impressing our visitors, it is just an easy way for me to remember the last time it was that I cleaned if I do it right before someone visits. It’s a good thing we have guests every month or so or my house would just be filthy.  A good friend, and fellow twin mom, and I were talking yesterday and she mentioned that someone had said to her: “At least your house is always clean because you stay home with your kids. ” In what world does that person think she lives in. Hasn’t everyone seen this before?

oreos

It is a little counterproductive having kids around while you clean because they can make messes WAY faster than I can clean them up… especially left with less supervision. That’s why I make my kids work too! Isn’t that one of the reasons everyone had like ten kids 150 years ago? They needed help managing the farm, running the house, etc. I say, why should now be any different?

They sweep:

July 2013 504

They mop:

August 2013 154

Kylie

August 2013 153

Alyssa

And they do windows:

August 2013 156

My kids actually love to help and always ask the participate. At 1 1/2 and 3 1/2 they obviously can’t really do these chores all by themselves, but I can’t say no to letting them help. I would be crazy to do anything to turn them off of their desire to help clean!  Hopefully they will take the same pride when I ask them to do chores for years to come!

And check out this special moment I caught after we were all done.

August 2013 158

I love them.

Published in: on August 15, 2013 at 2:22 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aninaduren.wordpress.com/2013/08/15/put-them-to-work/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

