A Sewing Update

A few of you have been asking how the sewing was going for the diapers and pads I am making to donate. Mentioned here in case you missed it. I am so excited with the progress I have been making. So far I have 12 complete diapers done, and supplies for a couple more. I also have found myself really loving working on the shields and liners for the girls in Africa. It is such a rewarding experience because with just a little bit of my time I know that it has the power to completely change the course of some girl’s life. Where she once felt shame and was forced to either drop out of school, or do horrible things to be able to take care of herself, now she will be empowered, and confident and able to better her life for herself. It is amazing to be able to be a part of that. I have made a total of 10 shields so far (each kit has 3 of these) and 21 liners (each kit has 10 of these) and 5 wet bags (each kit contains one of these). I don’t need to worry about making complete kits, as It’s Our Mission: Period! assembles the kits and makes sure there are the right amounts of everything included. A few other ladies have asked to help partner with me in sewing, pinning and assembling the materials. We are going to try to have a Sewing Bee this weekend! I am so thankful for the support I have received in this project. I look forward to helping as much as I can in the future too. Here are some pictures of some of the things I have been working on.

sewing 005

five diapers in the newborn/small size
seven diapers in the medium/large size
(over $125 worth)

sewing 001

examples of three different waterproof shields

sewing 002

five examples of reusable flannel liners

Thanks so much to everyone who has donated money, fabric, and time to help. We are making a difference!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aninaduren.wordpress.com/2013/05/17/a-sewing-update/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] diapers are the same from my last post, but thanks to some other wonderful women we now have 93 liners, 34 shields and 5 wet bags all […]


Leave a Reply

