A Quick Case

I apologize for my lack of blogging lately. Everything is fine here, so don’t worry about us, I just have been really busy. The girls requested (last week) that they each get a blue owl quilt for their birthday. That’s two new quilts in less than three weeks. On top of that I need to finish making invitations to Wyatt’s birthday party (Holy moly, can the Little Man really be almost one?!) which need to go out by the beginning of February since we might get some out of town guests. Oh ya, and we are making a family trip up to my family’s cabin in Big Bear, Ca too. Anyways, between the crafting and the home running and the kid raising, my blogging has fallen to the bottom of my list.

Sometimes when I get deep into the middle of a big craft project I like to break it up with something quick and easy with results I can see immediately. I needed something to start and finish during nap time. I had bought this fabric when I was shopping for quilt prints. It wasn’t on my list, but what just too cute to pass up. It matched the girls room perfectly, so I decided to make simple pillowcases with a contrast trim and for their beds.

009

Want to make your own?

Start with two fabrics:

Main fabric- 26 in by 41 in. (if you are using a fabric with a specific direction like mine the short side should follow the print, and the long side should be perpendicular)

Trim fabric- 10 in by 41 in

002

Line up the edge of your main fabric (wrong side) to the outside edge of your trim (right side) and roll your main fabric up about 1/2 way into the trim.

003

Fold over the trim fabric, enclosing the main fabric inside and pin.

005

Stitch and then pull out the main fabric.

006

Press. Fold pillowcase in half and pin the right sides together. Yes, right sides together. We’ll be using a french seam, so there will be no raw edges inside your pillowcase. Sew along side and bottom using a 1/4 inch seam.

007

Turn inside out and press open. Sew along the side and bottom, this time using a 5/8 inch seam. This will completely enclose the other seam living no raw edges inside. Turn right side out and press. Add pillow and enjoy!

Published in: on January 24, 2013 at 2:57 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aninaduren.wordpress.com/2013/01/24/a-quick-case/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

