My First Quilt

The first quilt I ever made was not for my son. It wasn’t for one of my daughters either.

It wasn’t a baby shower gift for a friend of mine. In fact, I have no idea who it will go to.

I do know she will be sick. I know she will be in the hospital for one reason or another.

I know this because I made it for Quilts for Kids.

And for the little girl who chooses my quilt, I hope it will help add a little smile to her face.

Quilts for Kids depends on volunteers to sew patchwork quilts which are then distributed to hospitals to comfort children with life-threatening illnesses and children of abuse. Can you sew? Do you have a little time you would be willing to donate? (I made my first quilt in a little less than two days, with all three of my kids around!) You don’t even have to buy or cut the fabric yourself. Quilts for Kids will mail you a quilt kit with the fabric already cut. Yes, you read that right! All you have to do it sew it, add the batting, and mail it back. Easy Peasy! And think of the how much it will mean to a little boy or girl who is stuck in a hospital bed.

Here is the link for your FREE quilt kit.

If you have extra fabric laying around, or prefer to purchase the fabric yourself here is a link with patterns and yardage for quilts they can accept. (No fleece or hand tied quilts as they can get caught on IVs) If you have never quilted before no worries! The four patch quilt is super easy and the kit comes with instructions. I do know I will be making many more quilts for them over the years.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aninaduren.wordpress.com/2012/07/24/my-first-quilt/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s beautiful!!! I might do this (in a month or so)! What a great organization! Job well done friend! She’ll love it. šŸ™‚

  2. Beautiful work of love, Anina! What a blessing you are.

  3. Beautiful! I want to do this, but I’m Canadian. šŸ˜¦ And I don’t have a sewing machine šŸ˜¦ bummer.


Leave a Reply

