The Dump

I recently saw a friend post a link for a website called Dump Starbucks. I clicked it because my husband is very into coffee (he often roasts his own beans at home) and so I was interested what this might be about. What I found was not what I was expecting. It is a website calling for people to “dump Starbucks” because the company has come out in favor of same-sex marriage. I was actually shaking my head as I read what they had to say. I debated whether or not to say anything on my blog about this because I don’t want things to get all political, but I just can’t seem to keep my mouth shut. Or my fingers still!

One line I found particularly upsetting is “Starbucks has declared a culture war on all people of faith…” I will say that I am a Christian and I know what the Bible says about homosexuality. I will also say that I 100% believe ALL people should have the same rights in America, including the right to marry any other person they choose (provided both people are of legal age to make that decision). I do not feel that Starbucks has declared war on me at all.

Here are some questions I have for the Christians out there who are against same-sex marriage:

  • What are you thinking?
  • Do you really think if same-sex marriage is illegal those people will just decide to give up their lifestyle and marry someone from the opposite sex?
  • Are you so naive that you think people will not just choose to continue living together simply because they are not allowed to marry?
  • You believe homosexuality is a sin and that’s why you want it to be illegal. But what about greed, lust, jealousy and lying? How would you feel if your rights were taken away if you did any of those things?
  • Why is this any of your business? If you are against same-sex marriage… don’t marry someone of the same sex. Problem solved. Why have you decided this affects you in some way?

I read a wonderful article a while back regarding my last question. Amy Koch (a Minnesota Senate Majority Leader who campaigned to define marriage as the union between a man and a woman, and who resigned after cheating on her husband and “engaging in a relationship with a Senate staffer”) received a letter of apology from the gay community. Click here for the full article. I thought it was so funny and appropriate. Please enjoy this excerpt from it.

“On behalf of all gays and lesbians living in Minnesota, I would like to wholeheartedly apologize for our community’s successful efforts to threaten your traditional marriage,” reads the letter from John Medeiros. “We apologize that our selfish requests to marry those we love have cheapened and degraded traditional marriage so much that we caused you to stray from your own holy union for something more cheap and tawdry.”

Honestly, why do Christians believe allowing gays to marry will destroy their own marriages. Seriously, someone explain to me how that works. But the heart of my whole point is we live in America. Where people are free to believe whatever they choose. God or no God. And why should any American be denied any rights because of what they do or don’t believe and who they choose to love?

Published in: on April 21, 2012 at 7:41 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aninaduren.wordpress.com/2012/04/21/the-dump/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Very well written and put. It gives cause to ponder our own sins in our lives. I once stopped going to a church because the pastor told us that if we were living with our boyfriend/ girlfriend we shouldn’t come to chuch until we confessed our sins and stopped living together. I guess for him the last place for sinners to be is in church.

  2. AMEN!
    (I do think people should dump starbucks, but only because their coffee is horrible.)

  3. I don’t know of many Christians who are against homosexuals in particular. Plenty of Christians are FOR honoring the covenant of marriage as God established it.

  4. You go girl.


Leave a Reply

