Tonight

As I sit here and listen to my children screaming at the top of their lungs from being overtired (thanks to going to bed an hour late last night, trying to wake up at 4:30 this morning and only taking about a one hour nap this afternoon) I am reminded of the teenage girl I met in the doctors office just two days ago. After seeing me and watching Sprout move, she told her mom “I can’t wait to be pregnant.” Oh yes you can! Even as an adult, who was ready and tried for a long time to bring children into this world- parenting is hard. HARD. I can’t imagine the struggles of trying to do this as a teenager, or a single parent for that matter. I don’t know how those people survive. Maybe there should be some kind of school program where kids are made to visit homes of families with young children, so they can see just how exhausting it can be. That it isn’t all squishy cheeks, and smiles and hugs and funny pronunciations of words. That there are endless dirty diapers, tantrums, and time outs. That there are sleepless nights, and all too early mornings. Oh by the way, did I mention I am due with baby #3 any day?  🙂

Published in: on February 22, 2012 at 6:47 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aninaduren.wordpress.com/2012/02/22/tonight/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Totally agree. I like teen mom and mtv it shows teen pregnancy in its true light… your life is crazy hectic and things don’t all too often work out as you had thought especially as a teenager. Atleast be out of hs. You NEED your education. You can always go back to college its harder but its still do-able. Like you said.. life as a parent even as an adult is rough. I too admire all the single parents out there I would NOT want to do it.. its hard enough parenting even when you have a spouse. Some how we just manage with each passing day. Sooo excited for you and your soon to be newest member of your family to enter this world! **hugs** love and best wishes to you and your beautiful growing family 🙂

  2. **Teen Mom ON MTV that was supposed to say**


Leave a Reply

