Another Year

I can’t believe another year has gone by, and that my twins are turning two tomorrow. When did that happen? And, not only is tomorrow their birthday, but I will also be 36 weeks into this pregnancy- which has been my goal all along! It may seem silly, especially since most pregnant ladies out there complain a lot in the final weeks. But to me, each week is a huge milestone and a major accomplishment. I know just how vital each day of development is to this little baby, and I am thrilled we have made it this far!

Today is a very busy day getting ready for Alyssa and Kylie’s birthday tomorrow, even though we are keeping things very low key. We already made a trip to Lowe’s for some quick dry cement to make stepping stones with their footprints (following a tradition from last year), a trip to the grocery store for cupcake mix (chocolate this year!) and a bath. Girls are in their high chairs now having a quick lunch before their nap, and then it is off to have two year pictures taken. So I don’t have a lot of time to reflect on my thoughts about them turning two, but I will point you to my post last year where I talk about how I felt the day before they were born. So check that out by clicking here.

And as a special treat, here is exactly what I wrote two years ago today. I copied it from my online pregnancy journal ( the precursor to this blog).

Well, today was my last day being pregnant with the twins. I found out this morning that I am going to have a c-section tomorrow morning to deliver them. I guess the pre-eclampsia has finally caught up with us, and my doctors didn’t want to push their luck trying to keep me pregnant a little longer. So on Feb. 9, 2010 at 34 weeks, 4 days our babies will be born. I cried the whole way home from the doctors appointment. I am SO not ready to not be pregnant, and I worry about how the babies will do being born this early. I am also totally freaked out about having a c-section. I was really hoping to deliver vaginally, but they said this is really my only option, so here we go. Tomorrow morning we go to the hospital at 5:30am, and are scheduled for the surgery at 7:30. I am sure I won’t be getting much sleep tonight as I am feeling very anxious. I am starting to feel a little more excitement about meeting our babies finally though. I wonder if they are boys or girls, I wonder if they look more like Russell than me (I’m guessing Russell), I wonder if their hair will be dark or light. I look forward to holding them. I just want them to be o.k. For our last night before kids Russell and I made a bunch of phone calls to family letting them know the plan, and watching Arrested Development. Silly maybe, but a typical night for us. So, goodbye pregnancy… thanks for everything!

 

Published in: on February 8, 2012 at 11:48 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aninaduren.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/another-year/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Happy early birthday girls!!! Love you both very much.


Leave a Reply

