A Stolen Post

I am telling you right now, today’s post is stolen. I read it during the girls’ nap time and nodded my head almost the whole time. I cannot put better words to it than the original writer, and frankly, my brain doesn’t even have the energy to give you my own thoughts on it. But, since I know many of you won’t go and read the original post found by clicking here, I am copying some of my favorite parts and posting them for you right here.

“I think parenting young children (and old ones, I’ve heard) is a little like climbing Mount Everest. Brave, adventurous souls try it because they’ve heard there’s magic in the climb. They try because they believe that finishing, or even attempting the climb are impressive accomplishments. They try because during the climb, if they allow themselves to pause and lift their eyes and minds from the pain and drudgery, the views are breathtaking. They try because even though it hurts and it’s hard, there are moments that make it worth the hard. These moments are so intense and unique that many people who reach the top start planning, almost immediately, to climb again. Even though any climber will tell you that most of the climb is treacherous, exhausting, killer. That they literally cried most of the way up.”

“My favorite part of each day is when the kids are put to bed and Craig (her husband) and I sink into the couch to watch some quality TV, like Celebrity Wife Swap, and congratulate each other on a job well done. Or a job done, at least.”

“Parenting is hard. Just like lots of important jobs are hard. Why is it that the second a mother admits that it’s hard, people feel the need to suggest that maybe she’s not doing it right? Or that she certainly shouldn’t add more to her load. Maybe the fact that it’s so hard means she IS doing it right…in her own way…and she happens to be honest.”

“Carry on, warrior. Six hours till bedtime.”

Published in: on January 18, 2012 at 2:07 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aninaduren.wordpress.com/2012/01/18/a-stolen-post/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Oooo I like that line that I’m happy having parented-so good. I”m going to start using that one.


Leave a Reply

