For The Families

With Veteran’s Day just past, I wanted to send out a little message to another group of patriots who sacrifice daily for their country, but are given no day of acknowledgement.

The families.

Especially the wives (or husbands) who stay at home with young children. These people do something that many of us cannot imagine. Last night as I was reading before bed I came across a letter from Abigail Adams to John Adams in 1782, during one of their many long separations. I wanted to share one paragraph with you today.

“I will take praise to myself. I feel it is my due, for having sacrificed so large a portion of my peace and happiness to promote the welfare of my country which I hope for many years to come will reap the benefit, tho it is more than probable unmindfull of the hand that blessed them.”

Please let us all try to remember to honor, pray for, and serve these families who sacrifice something so large for their country.

Published in: on November 15, 2011 at 8:33 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aninaduren.wordpress.com/2011/11/15/for-the-families/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

