Nursery Rhymes And The Pup

The other night at bedtime Russell was reading nursery rhymes. If you haven’t read any nursery rhymes lately let me be the first to tell you, these things can be really weird. I know they all have hidden political meanings or something, but seriously… who ever had the idea to write these for kids? I had two I wanted to share with you, the first is just to prove my point.

Oranges and Lemons

Oranges and lemons, Say the bells of St. Clements.

You owe me five farthings, say the bells of St. Martins.

When will you pay me? Say the bells of Old Bailey.

When I grow rich, say the bells of Shoreditch.

When will that be? Say the bells of Stepney.

I do not, says the bell at Bow.

Here comes a candle to light you to bed, Here comes a chopper to chop off your head.

Chip chop, chip chop, the last man’s head.

 

Seriously, is that the kind of stuff kids need to hear before going to bed? The other rhyme is something that may not be funny to everyone, but Russell and I have laughed endlessly about it since he first read it.

Higglety, Pigglety, Pop!

Higglety, pigglety, Pop!

The dog has eaten the mop;

The pig’s in a hurry,

The cat’s in a flurry,

Higglety, pigglety, POP!

I am not sure if any of my readers have dogs, or if they have a dog like we do, but Rusty will eat anything and everything. He eats sticks, cardboard, rope (whole), and just about anything you can imagine. And I am sure if we kept it accessible, he would have eaten our mop long ago. I can imagine walking in and finding mop pieces all over the place and Rusty hiding under the bed (knowing he would be punished, but not letting that stop him) And since I don’t have a picture of him eating our mop, here is one from a time he ate a bunch of flour.

Published in: on July 23, 2011 at 12:00 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aninaduren.wordpress.com/2011/07/23/nursery-rhymes-and-the-pup/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. He’s so cute though….


Leave a Reply

