What Are Kids Learning These Days?!

This morning I was taking advantage of a free service our library offers and downloading some music for the girls. One of the songs I chose to get was the Alphabet Song. (You know the one… A B C D E F G, etc) Well I found out that apparently there is some new version out there different from the one I learned as a kid. I know what you must be thinking, how can the alphabet song be different if the alphabet is the same? Well, it is all in the ending. I learned it to go:

“Now I know my Abc’s, next time won’t you sing with me?”

But when I was listening to the selection of artists availaible I discovered a whole new ending out there. This one goes:

“Now I’ve said my Abc’s, tell me what you think of me.”

Which is just wrong. And weird. Is this the version any of you learned, or have your kids learned it this way?

Published in: on June 1, 2011 at 9:00 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aninaduren.wordpress.com/2011/06/01/what-are-kids-learning-these-days/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow! That’s super weird! “Tell me what you think so I can start my insecurities about the way I sing super early!”

  2. WHAT??? Things like this really annoy me.

  3. I had heard that once before and had the same reaction as you! I’ll continue to sing it the good ol’ fashioned way. 🙂


Leave a Reply

