FREE Groceries This Week!

… and probably most of next weeks as well, thanks to Fresh & Easy and Rent.com.

As many of you might know, our family has been on some tight finances for a while. My husband was let go from his job in August, and worked part time from then to December. For January through March he was a full time student and we had not only our mortgage, but rent on an apartment. But, by the grace of God we have survived and have not fallen behind on any of our bills. People are often asking me how I make our finances work, so I thought I would give an example of how I save us money.

One of the bills that our family and friends comment on the most is our weekly grocery bill, which I manage to keep right around $40. For our family of four. I am able to do that through a combination of sale-buying, stocking up and coupons. Let me say though, while there are some people out there like MyVegasMommy who are extreme coupon-ers and save hundreds of dollars, I am not as talented. Rather, I do not have the patience and desire to put that much effort into it. I did however sign up for weekly emails and mailers through my grocery store of choice, Fresh and Easy. Today I had a coupon for $10 off of $50 or more. So it was a week I stocked up a little extra on things we eat a lot of. (I also had a coupon for a free reusable bag, which is great as well!)

I did say our groceries were free this week, and here is why. Remember I said we had an apartment for the time Russell was going to school? Well I had found that apartment through Rent.com, which has a deal where when you sign a lease with one of their properties you get a free $100 visa card. Not bad since we had to do it anyways, so we took advantage and got $100 free. Well, we just received our card in the mail and to the grocery store I went.

Obviously this example does not work for everyone, and is not an all the time sort of thing, but saving money is about being aware of what kind of deals are out there and taking advantage of them when you can.

Published in: on April 11, 2011 at 10:32 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aninaduren.wordpress.com/2011/04/11/free-groceries-this-week/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love it! I manage to keep our grocery bill around $75 a week. I wish coupons worked more for me, but I don’t buy canned and boxed things very much. So I stick to sales and stocking up. I’ve also been known to shop at two different stores on the same day to get better prices. The crazy things we do right?

  2. That’s my girl!


Leave a Reply

