Heaven Has A New Angel

About a week ago I did something I rarely do, I asked my friends on Facebook to pray for an old friend of mine named Kristen.  She was getting induced  to deliver a baby doctors said would probably not survive more than a few minutes. Baby Adele was born Feb. 9, 2011 at 11:09am. (My girls’ first birthday). She fought hard for her chance at life, but passed away this afternoon. In her few days of life she brought so much joy to her family. You can read her whole story by clicking here.

Adele and Mommy

Daddy's first kiss

Kristen and Adele’s story is not the only one of loss that had pulled on my heartstrings recently. Just over a month ago another old friend named Sean lost his 13 month old daughter suddenly and unexpectedly. Little Brynnley had a very severe case of diabetic ketoacidosis, and only 30 hours after checking her into the hospital her parents were donating her organs to try and help save other babies.

Brynnley

Brynnley

The thing about these stories that really strikes me is how much strength both couples have had in the terrible loss of their daughters. While I think I would be so angry that my baby was never given the opportunity to live, Kristen and her husband are praising God for the time they did have with Addie and thanking Him for rescuing her from a life long struggle with her disease. And while I would be overwhelmed with emptiness thinking of my innocent daughter’s life cut short, Sean and his wife called it a “miracle” that through her death Brynnley was able to save (I believe) six other children.

These two couples obviously have incredible faith — more than I do — to be able to handle such tragedy with so much strength and grace. So I am going to ask two things of my readers. 1) Give your little ones a little longer hug and an extra kiss. Be thankful you have them, even when they are driving you crazy. 2) Keep these two families in your thoughts and prayers as I cannot imagine the pain they feel.

Published in: on February 15, 2011 at 1:59 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aninaduren.wordpress.com/2011/02/15/heaven-has-a-new-angel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

