One Year Ago

Feb. 8, 2010 sucked. There is no way around it. I hated it. I had a doctors appointment, actually I had two appointments that day. One in the morning with my OB and one in the afternoon with my Perinatologist. (This actually was not uncommon in the last few weeks of my pregnancy. I typically saw at least one of those doctors everyday) Anyways, this day was different. This is the day they told me “We have to deliver. Tomorrow.” Ugh…I was crushed.

First of all, I was only 34 weeks along and I knew that the babies born then, while totally viable, would not be big enough, strong enough, or probably healthy enough to come home from the hospital with us. I knew it wasn’t time for them to come out. What they needed was a nice warm belly to stay in for at least a couple more weeks. The problem was that my doctors didn’t think I couldn’t give that to them anymore.  They needed to be born.

Secondly, I was not ready to not be pregnant anymore. This may seem strange to some of you especially since I had measured at a full 40 week belly when I was only 32 weeks pregnant, but I absolutely loved being pregnant. I can’t explain the pure joy I felt carrying around two little lives with me. I was incredibly blessed to have avoided any traces of morning sickness, sciatic pain, heartburn or any of the other main complaints of pregnancy. Those girls were good to me! And despite the two nights that our little Kylie slept with her head under my ribs, for the most part I was pretty comfortable. (thanks to my pregnancy body pillow– every expectant mom needs one!)

I was not happy to hear my babies were coming out. In fact I cried for 45 minutes before I even called Russell to tell him. But I was incredibly excited to finally meet those two little people. I couldn’t wait to find out if they were little boys or little girls. I couldn’t wait to see what and who they looked like. I had no idea how much I would love them. I’m going to leave you with a picture that was actually taken on the morning of their birth, but I want tomorrow’s post to be all about them, so enjoy it tonight. Here is the last picture of my big ol’ twin belly.

Please excuse my fat face too!

Published in: on February 8, 2011 at 8:29 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aninaduren.wordpress.com/2011/02/08/one-year-ago/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. For the last time, your face was not fat!!! And you looked beautiful all the way through!

  2. Dude, you were huge.

  3. […] Today is a very busy day getting ready for Alyssa and Kylie’s birthday tomorrow, even though we are keeping things very low key. We already made a trip to Lowe’s for some quick dry cement to make stepping stones with their footprints (following a tradition from last year), a trip to the grocery store for cupcake mix (chocolate this year!) and a bath. Girls are in their high chairs now having a quick lunch before their nap, and then it is off to have two year pictures taken. So I don’t have a lot of time to reflect on my thoughts about them turning two, but I will point you to my post last year where I talk about how I felt the day before they were born. So check that out by clicking here. […]


Leave a Reply

