Mormon Potatoes?

So I have this wonderful Potato Casserole recipe that I got from my mother in law. It is so delicious! Back when we were dating, if his parents wanted to see Russell for dinner his mom would make these potatoes and call me and say that’s what they were having with dinner. I would then tell Russell we would be eating with his parents that night. Win win. They are so good!!! Anyways, I made them for my Mothers of Multiples potluck (as I do for almost any potluck) on Monday. After trying them someone asked me if they were Mormon potatoes. I had never been asked that before. I answered that I am not Mormon, and neither is the person who gave me the recipe. Someone else soon chimed in that they were in fact Mormon Funeral Potatoes. Very interesting. Potatoes specifically for funerals? Has anyone ever heard of this before? Any other funeral-y type foods I should be aware of?

On a side note, a quick image search for “mormon funeral potatoes” produced this mouse pad on cafe press….

Published in: on December 8, 2010 at 8:33 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aninaduren.wordpress.com/2010/12/08/mormon-potatoes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

