Is this really my life?

 

Being a parent of multiples is a wonderful, exciting, stressful, difficult, exhausting, incredible experience. There are many challenges parents of a singleton never even think about. There are enough frustrations daily to make you want to rip your own hair out. But there are also twice the smiles, twice the hugs and as I recently started to experience- twice the little voices saying “mama”!

Being a parent of multiples is like instant acceptance into an exclusive club. You either are, or you aren’t. When you meet another parent of multiples there is an instant connection of understanding. They know.

Being a parent of multiples (as I am learning) means you also have to develop thicker skin. Not in the literal sense- although there is a significant amount of scratching, clawing, and pulling when you have infants around 🙂 But it seems that everyone from your parents, in-laws, friends, co-workers, kid’s teachers and random people in the grocery store have opinions on how you should raise your kids. This, I am sure also applies to many parents of singletons too. The difference I mean to highlight is that raising twins is an experience all its own. It is not like having kids three, two or even one year apart.

Last night as I was driving down for our monthly Mothers of Multiples meeting I started thinking about how lucky I am to be a part of such a great community. Here is this amazing group of strong, funny, tough women who all know. And I was thinking, “Am I really so lucky to be able to call myself apart of them? Is this really my life??”

Published in: on December 7, 2010 at 10:39 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aninaduren.wordpress.com/2010/12/07/is-this-really-my-life/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What an awesome blog post!!! I feel the same way! And I am so glad that you and I have had the opportunity to become friends through the gift of twins! 🙂

  2. I love my MoM club for that very reason. They get it like no one else can. They’re such a blessing (just like ‘meeting’ MoM bloggers) because they know the added pressures, frustrations, and double joy.

  3. Yes! I love meeting other twin parents–I breathe this sigh of relief, because they KNOW. And you can be assured that their encouragement is genuine, and their advice often applicable and helpful. I’ve been so blessed through the blog world to meet so many wonderful MoMs too!

  4. Linking over from Multiples & More…great post!

    Before our girls were born, I literally didn’t personally know anyone with twins. I eventually met a couple of other MoMs, and we formed a Mothers of Multiples group for our area. Between that and the blog community that I’m now a part of, having multiples seems so “normal” to me! Of course it has its challenges, but it only takes hearing “Mommy coming?” in stereo, or seeing our girls hugging, to remind me how special it really is. And sometimes I can’t believe I’m so lucky. 🙂 🙂


Leave a Reply

