All About Bear – 9/16

As I write today’s blog my little one is sitting in her pink, Metro K-9 onsie with the slogan “Jaws with Paws Enforce’n the Laws”, playing wonderfully by herself. This is one of the joys of having twins- they are very independent. They both can be left alone in a room for extended periods and they will happily play with their staking rings,ย  pillow pets, or their “who loves baby?” book. And these days by “play” I mean “chew”. ๐Ÿ™‚ But enough about my twins, this post is titled All About Bear!

Bear is Kylie’s nickname. Don’t ask me where it came from, it just appeared one day and stuck around. She is such an amazing little girl with a big heart. I guess since this is my first post All About Bear, I’ll start at the very beginning. From the time I was 11 weeks pregnant she was know as “baby B”. In early Feb. the girls made their debut, much to my displeasure, at only 34 weeks gestation. Kylie was born 2 minutes after her sister at 8:13am. She was a full half pound bigger weighing in at 4lb 12 oz. She was kept in the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) for a very long 25 days. She spent the first couple months of her life dealing with severe reflux that caused her to choke while she was eating. But she was always a trooper and put weight on beautifully. She is now in the 50-75% for weight!

She cut two little front teeth just 3 days apart at the beginning of this month, but has yet to start growing some real hair :/ Kylie is so close to crawling it’s driving us crazy! I have the video camera out and charged everyday so we won’t miss it. She mostly pushes herself backwards when she tries to crawl, but has mastered rolling around the room to get to what she wants.

Our little Bear has also gotten much better at hibernating at night- last night she went a full 12 hours between meals. And her personality is SO fun! She loves to be tickled, and startled, and even scared. She’s pretty much fearless, and will laugh at things that would make most babies cry. She has discovered her voice, mostly in the form of shrieking. But is such a sweetheart.ย  Two nights ago she woke up early and wanted to eat. I got up and fed her and then tried to burp her over my shoulder. She decided she didn’t need to burp, but buried her face into my neck, snuggled up and quickly fell asleep. I held like that for at least 10 min. because she was just too sweet to set down.

As I finish this post she is starting to show signs that a nap is in her near future, but as always, has a big smile for her momma.

Published in: on September 16, 2010 at 4:43 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aninaduren.wordpress.com/2010/09/16/all-about-bear-916/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. That is sooooooo cute! I love the whole story ๐Ÿ™‚ Sounds like she has one heck of a personality already!


Leave a Reply

